UM Rosenstiel School Hosts 2011 Graduate Student Awards Ceremony

2011 Student Awards Front Row: Peter DiNezio, Rachel Silverstein. Back Row: Corrine Hartin, Ryan Woosley, Monica Arienzo, Kenri Pomar, Patrick Kelly

VIRGINIA KEY, Fla. — November 20, 2011 — Founded in the 1940’s, the University of Miami (UM) Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science has grown into one of the world’s premier marine and atmospheric research institutions. The Annual School-wide Awards Ceremony recognizes graduate students for their scholarly achievement and provides support to help further their education at the Rosenstiel School.

“Our Graduate Academic Committee carefully evaluated a high number of nominations for our student awards and selected this year’s winners from very competitive groups of nominees,” said Dr. Martin Grosell, professor and associate dean for Graduate Studies at the Rosenstiel School. “Our graduate students continue to perform exciting, cutting edge research and produce high quality dissertations and publications. Our annual award ceremony is a celebration of some of the top achievements by our talented past and current graduate students.”

Held in the Rosenstiel School Auditorium, the 2011 ceremony honored the following students:

F.G. Walton Smith Prize
Pedro DiNezio (Meteorology and Physical Oceanography)

Dean’s Prize
Kenri Pomar (Marine Geology and Geophysics)

Koczy Prize
Corinne Hartin (Marine and Atmospheric Chemistry)

Frank J. Millero Prize
Patrick Kelly (Meteorology and Physical Oceanography)

Mary Roche Fellowship
Ryan Woosley (Marine and Atmospheric Chemistry)

Alumni Award(s)
Monica Arienzo (Marine Geology and Geophysics)
Rachel Silverstein (Marine Biology and Fisheries)
Remy Okazaki (Marine Biology and Fisheries)
Kasey Cantwell (Marine Affairs and Policy)

In addition to the award winners, Grosell also recognized the following students who received prestigious national fellowships:

  • Marco Bagnardi (NASA)
  • Estelle Chaussard (NASA)
  • Elizabeth Council (Sea Grant)
  • Douglas Koch (National Science Foundation — Graduate Research Fellowship)
  • Emanuelle Feliciano-Bonilla (National Science Foundation — Graduate Research Fellowship)
  • Falko Judt (NASA)
  • Merly Ovares (McKnight)
  • Holly Perryman (Sea Grant)
  • Katrina Phillips (Sea Grant)
  • Jennifer Wyley (Office of Naval Research)
About the University of Miami The University of Miami is the largest private research institution in the southeastern United States. The University’s mission is to provide quality education, attract and retain outstanding students, support the faculty and their research, and build an endowment for University initiatives

dr. martin grosell •  research •  peter dinezio •  rachel silverstein •  corrine hartin •  ryan woosley •  monica arienzo •  kenri pomar •  patrick kelly •  remy okazaki •  kasey cantwell •  academic achievements •  award •