UM Rosenstiel School Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

Student Awards L-R Top Row: Brian Giebel, Yumin Moon, David Painemal, Yan Jiang, Drew Davis; Bottom Row: Laura Rock, Lyanne Yurco, Brittany Huntington, Josi Taylor

MIAMI — November 15, 2010 — The University of Miami (UM) Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science is one of the world's premier marine and atmospheric research institutions. The Annual School-wide Awards Ceremony is where graduate students are presented with awards recognizing their scholarly achievement and fellowships to help further their education at the Rosenstiel School.

“Our Master’s and Ph.D. students play a key role in the intellectual life of our academic community,” said Dr. Martin Grosell, professor and associate dean for graduate studies at the Rosenstiel School. “We are very pleased to recognize their achievements through this annual event. The academic committee had tough decisions to make in selecting this year’s winners. Presentations given by awardees the morning of Friday, November 12, were a strong demonstration of the quality and breadth of research conducted by our students at the Rosenstiel School. ”

Held on Friday, November 12, in the Rosenstiel School Auditorium, the 2010 ceremony was attended by Dr. Roni Avissar, dean of the Rosenstiel School and Grosell, and honored the following outstanding students:

F.G. Walton Smith Prize
Josi Taylor (Marine Biology & Fisheries)

Dean’s Prize 
Lyanne Yurco (Marine Geology & Geophysics
Koczy Prize  
Brian Giebel (Marine & Atmospheric Chemistry)
Yumin Moon (Meteorology & Physical Oceanography)
Frank J. Millero Prize
Yan Jiang (Marine Geology & Geophysics)
Brittany Huntington (Marine Biology & Fisheries)
Alumni Fellowship
Kieran Bhatia (Meteorology & Physical Oceanography)
Mary Roche Fellowship
Rob Letscher (Marine & Atmospheric Chemistry)
David Painemal (Meterology & Physical Oceanography)
Don deSylva Memorial Award
Laura Rock (Marine Affairs & Policy)
Edwin S. Iversen Aquaculture Award
Drew Davis (Marine Affairs & Policy)

About the University of Miami’s Rosenstiel School
The University of Miami’s mission is to educate and nurture students, to create knowledge, and to provide service to our community and beyond. Committed to excellence and proud of the diversity of our University family, we strive to develop future leaders of our nation and the world. Founded in the 1940’s, the Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science has grown into one of the world’s premier marine and atmospheric research institutions. Offering dynamic interdisciplinary academics, the Rosenstiel School is dedicated to helping communities to better understand the planet, participating in the establishment of environmental policies, and aiding in the improvement of society and quality of life. For more information, please visit

award •  dr. martin grosell •  dr. roni avissar •  josi taylor •  lyanne yurco •  brian giebel •  yumin moon •  yan jiang •  brittany huntington •  rob letscher •  david painemal •  laura rock •  drew davis •  academic achievements •  kieren bhatia •