Rosenstiel Award

2014 Winner: Emily Shuckburgh

Dr. Emily Shuckburgh is the 40th recipient of the Rosenstiel Award, in recognition of her work as a climate scientist. Shuckburgh leads the Open Oceans research group at the British Antarctic Survey, which is focused on understanding the role of the polar oceans in the global climate system.

Recognized for her many appointments, which include: A fellow of the University of Cambridge’s Darwin College, a member of the Faculty of Mathematics, an associate of the Cambridge Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research, an associate fellow of the Centre for Science and Policy and a member of Faculty for many programs of the Cambridge Program for Sustainability Leadership.

She is a fellow of the Royal Meteorology Society and Chair of the Society’s Climate Science Communications Group, a trustee of the Campaign for Science and Engineering and a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences and acts as an advisor to the UK Government on behalf of the Natural Environment Research Council. Read more...

About the Rosenstiel Award

Lewis The Rosenstiel Award was created by the Rosenstiel Foundation to recognize persons who make outstanding contributions either towards the development of ocean science in general, or through personal research and publications towards advancement of the understanding of the oceans, including their boundaries and interfaces, and the underlying phenomena. The award is supported by the Rosenstiel Foundation through the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science of the University of Miami.

The Rosenstiel Award was created under the auspices of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 1971. The AAAS administered the award through the creation of an annual selection panel. In 1980, the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science at the University of Miami assumed all responsibility for the selection and designation of the yearly award. There have been 35 awardees.

Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science campus

Support the Rosenstiel School and its programs by making a donation today.

Support our Programs